In many Countries, there is a debate about the effectiveness of using longer prison. sentences to combat crime. advantages and discedvanteeses.

Some individuals believe to give long imprisonment to the criminals to reduce the crimes in number of counteries. The advanteges Of this view point is that we can reduce the crime ratio, It also cause some discedvantages like the expenditure become high. to maintain criminals For longer time and it is also become unfair with Small-crime criminals.

The pros of keeping criminals into the prison For long duration is that the criminal who cought one time can not get chance to commite another crime if they are imprison For life-time. Moreover if the government declare the policy of longer imprisment of the criminals then the offenders think twice before comitting any crime. By the longer imprisment culprit Feel guilty about what they done and may become a good person by changing their thinking. For example, UsA has a law of longer imprisment for the culprits that reduced the crime ratio in this nation.

On the Flip side, there are Some cons of this viw point is that, the expenditure become high as govermment should have to provide Food and shelter to the criminals, as more and more culprits join and the older ones remain then the need of food become higher and it becomes hard to maintain.The another reason is that it become unfair with the people who comitte a Small crime as they also have to stay for long time as the criminals who did major crimes. For example, as UsA declared longer prison Sentence, the authorities have to spend most off their fund in the maintaincence of prison settlements.

In conclusion, longeer imprisment can lead to some positive effect such as the crime ratio reduced as compere to before but on the other side it also have negative effects such as government have to spend lot off fund for the maintainance of prisons and it creats partiality between criminals who commit small crime and criminals with huge crime.