Some governments are restricting freedom of speech to maintain stability and security. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In contemporary society, the freedom of speech is restricted by authorities in order to save stability and security. Despite some benefits of this trend, I strongly believe that this is a harmful development.

First and foremost, individuals will be irritated by this trend. A case in point is that if governments always restrict opportunities to say some personal perspectives, people will gather negative emotions inside them, which leads to negative ramifications. For the first time, however, governments can control residents, citizens, and preserve the peaceful life in a country in addition to their own security. Nevertheless, ordinary people eventually can create a huge meeting against them by gathering and encouraging more and more people to join. As a result, it will create a huge issue, which will require many policemen and other serious figures to solve it.

Another major issue is individuals’ well-being. These days, only by expressing some disagreements against rules are ordinary people able to gain some responses from the part of the government. However, if such opportunities are restricted, they cannot say something about criminals, women rights and more. For instance, if women didn’t widely express and fight for justice, they were not be able to have almost equal rights with men now. Thus, freedom of speech is crucial for people’s rights since thanks to it they can gain justice and freedom in their own regions.

In conclusion, although restricting individuals’ opportunity to express their own opinions has some advantages in terms of security, I strongly believe that it tends to be a negative development.