Some countries provide free university education for all citizens. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Needless to say that recent time witnessed a spike in paying high taxes by citizens, while essential public services such as education and healthcare are provided free of charge. Although this phenomenon has both pros and cons, I believe its overall benefits generally outweigh the drawbacks.

There are plentiful advantageous of this approach. The most noteable point is that equal access to essential services. To elaborate, when education and healthcare are free, people from all socioeconomic backgrounds have opportunity to recieve good medical treatments and education without paying much cost. Apart from this, social stability. To make it more clear, when basics needs such as health and education are guaranteed, income inequality tends to decrease. Citizens feel more secure that they are protected in illness or financial hardship. This can reduce crime rates and improve overall quality of life.

Despite having some numerous positives, this trend also have some negatives. The prominent high taxes can reduce individual’s disposable income, making it harder for people to save or invest. Some may feel that they are paying for services they do not fully use. which can lead to dissatisfaction.

In conclusion, while high taxation can be challenging for citizens, the advantages of free healthcare and education such as equal opportunity, improved public wellbeing.