Training 65-year-olds to use computers would be a good way to use government money. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an ongoing debate about whether the government should spend public money on teaching people aged 65 and older how to use computers.While some people strongly argue that it is a waste of money, I would contend that this policy can improve the independence and quality of life of elderly citizens.

On the one hand, it is often claimed that the allocation of governmental funds to training for retired people is a waste of money.They contend that providing computer training for older adults is unnecessary because only a small number of retired people are interested in using technology.For example, in many developed nations there was an experiment to train retired people to use technology, but participation remained low and outcomes were limited.In addition, only a minority use these skills, while others did not use them at all.As a result, the program did not justify its cost.Therefore, this money could have been invested in healthcare or pensions.

Admittedly, such programs may require significant public spending.However, they can reduce social isolation and significantly enhance independence.By participating in such programs seniors are able to socialize more, rather than remain isolated at home.Furthermore, such programs can increase their level of independence.Retired people can communicate through video calls by learning computer skills.They can manage daily tasks online without relying on relatives.As a result, the use of new computer skills in seniors daily lives can significantly improve their mental health and promote self-sufficiency.

In conclusion,although such spending may seem inefficient because of low participation,the long-term benefits for elderly people are more significant.