WRITING TASK 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Some people think that schools are too competitive and that this has a negative impact on children. Others believe the competitive environment encourages children to achieve. Discuss both these views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 2 50 words.

Competitiveness creates a fierce environment anywhere, so it is only normal for it to be generated between kids, as it is a primal instinct to humans. This launched a debate between parents all over the world; some people encourage their children to be competitive, but others are afraid of the negative impacts it has on kids. Prospectively, I believe that as long as it stays healthy and does not turn into hatred and generate anger between kids, it is better to spark some heat between children to encourage them to be the best versions of themselves as they grow up.

Encouraging competitiveness can lead to stellar results; kids are continuously trying to one-up their friends, becoming top of their school year. Kids can be unexpected and surprising, as they might figure out and discover their talents if they tried to. Competitiveness can increase the children’s desire to work harder, hoping to reach the top of the mountain, and learn from a young age that hard work will pay off with greater results.

Although all of this sounds great, competitiveness can enroll a lot of pressure on an adult, so imagining this heavy burden on a child, it can reach extreme measures. Children are always trying to show off their skills to others, so when put in a competitive environment, it can be hardcore. Reaching the top might be extremely hard, and that can become a reason for children to feel weak in the presence of their parents; the results of this can be a child becoming depressed. Competitiveness can initiate fights between kids; due to their young age, they might not be able to comprehend the definition of being competitive.

Overall, the advantages can be very desirable, but it might come at the cost of the child’s mental health.