WRITING TASK 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Some people think that schools are too competitive and that this has a negative impact on children. Others believe the competitive environment encourages children to achieve. Discuss both these views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 2 50 words.

The discussion on weather schools have created a competitive and unhealthy enviroment for kids , has been questioned for years now.

Most of the population believes that challenging children and making them compete against eachother makes them stronger and prepares them for the real world where they have to show determination and ambition and a sense of superiority in order to achieve their goal. Although the rest of the population believes the opposite, and all these “challenges” that kids are exposed to these days have a neagtive impact on them, making them question their self-worth, and their ability to achieve their goals.

My opinion on this topic is that sometimes competing with someone else weather is a peer or anyone for all that matters can have positive results. Moreover when we know we are in the position where we don’t have to prove ourselves we tend to become lazy, we don’t try as hard because there is nothing to win or lose. Having said so giving kids a reason or something or even someone to look forward to prepares them for the real world. Of course everything needs to be done with moderation, being in a constant war with everybody is not healthy neverthereless it doesn’t help anybody and can cause serious damage to the ego.

In conclusion, my point is that there is nothing wrong with having to prove ourselves in things that we know will help us grow a strong character, and will prepare us for the adversities of the world.