Training 65-year-olds to use computers would be a good way to use government money. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A school of thought holds that providing elderly people computer training courses is worth the government money. I completely disagree with this viewpoint due to two primary reasons: the familiarity with old devices and the more notable demand of training of other groups.

To begin with, most old people are remarkably familiar with newspapers and TV due to long periods of using. For example, in many countries, majority of the elderly have used these devices since adulthood and continued afterwards, regardless the introduction of phones or computers. For this reason, it can be difficult and time-demanding to fully teach this demographic to use computers efficiently.

Another key reason is that there are other individuals who need training more than the old. In the era of technology, academic resources and teaching programs are increasingly digitalized. Evidently, top universities in the world such as Havard and Yale are introducing more online studying documents since they are gravitate towards convenience and rapidness. Therefore, children need computer skills to get the access to them. Furthermore, since artificial intelligence are developing in a never-seen pace, there are potentially numerous AI-related jobs in the future. As a result, training courses can be vital for the young by equipping them foundational computer knowledge.

In conclusion, I totally oppose to the given statement since it can take a significant amount of time and money to train the 65-year-old cohort to use computers effectively. In addition, young people need the training more than their elderly counterparts due to the rapid digitalization and the potential increase in the number of job positions requiring computer skills.