In many countries, there is a debate about the effectiveness of using longer prison sentences to combat crime. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving longer prison sentences to criminals?

There is always a discussion about the effect of long jail sentence to minimise crime. This can become of great importance to the legal and crime branch as the criminals may realise their mistake and change for good. Whereas it can also lead to shortage of prisions and staff to handle more individuals who have been declared prisioner by the court.

Longer prision sentance may become the first step to combat crime. Increasing the time period for a criminal can help him to self actualise his own mistake and he can lead a good life after the complition of his desired time in the jail. It can also lead to an emotion fear among the people who are about to commit a mistake which can lead them to be sentenced behind the bars. It has often come to a notice that the criminals who spend more time in jail often lead a good life after completing there time in the jail.

However , introduction of long prision time can be a disadvantage to the jail management department. As longer duration of prision sentance may increase good amount of prisioners and it can become a headche for the mangement as less jails are avaible and more individuals in jail require more food , managing staff and more jailers. As it is already very difficult to handle the suspect for the government and incresing the suspect can lead to a greater problem for the same. Good survailence facilities are reqired to manage the same. Recruiting and increasing the authority to manage the same can be a difficulty to the government of the country.

overall, there is always a debate about the effectiveness of using longer prison sentences to combat crime. In my opinon increasing the sentenced time may be of a greater help