In many countries, there is a growing trend of food waste at both the consumer and retail levels. What are the primary reasons for this problem, and what effective solutions can be implemented to minimize food waste?

There is an increasing trend of food waste among both buyers and retailers in a large number of country, which causes evironmental and economic loss. This pattern mainly comes from the lack of awareness among people; however, governments can take steps to regulate it.

The waste of food, mostly, is due to some consumer strategies of businesses, who chase profit regardless of the sustainability. It is easy to find many products on sales with high-percentage discounts in any small or large-scale store nowadays. This kind of manipulating strategy makes people feel profited so that they tend to buy a surplus beyond the amount that they truly need. Additionally, people lacking awareness should also be to blame. In fact, many people these days do not have adequate knowledge to become a wise consumers and users. This can bee seen in many households’ routines, where the food is processed careless and leftovers is willingly thrown away.

To adress this issue, governments should consider some practical policies. Firstly, they can increase food taxes. If the food become more expensive, citizens will need to thoroughly consider before buying in order to prevent wasteful purchase and financial loss. Secondly, some new laws should posed to restrict the retailers’ and companies’ affects. Discounts should be applied less frequently and with a limited pecentage. Finally, it is a good idea to organize some public talks to inform people about the importance of a sustainable food uasge and guide them how to prevent food waste.

In conclusion, the rising trend of food waste is promoted when retailers over-prioritize profit, so missing out on the sustainability and when consumers are poorly informed. However, this can be managed by governments restricting activities of business and providing knowledge to citizens.