In many countries, there is a growing trend of food waste at both the consumer and retail levels. What are the primary reasons for this problem, and what effective solutions can be implemented to minimize food waste?

Food waste has become a major issue, especially at the household level. This essay will explain the reasons people have the tendency to waste food and ways to solve this problem.

In this modern era, lifestyle changes cause people to toss their food in search of something fast, simple and trendy. Demanding work responsibilities often leave busy individuals to either resort to eating out or worse, skip meals. As a result, food that had been kept in the refrigerator tend to end up in the trash. Another reason is the rise of social media food content. Food is now somewhat seen as a trend. People do not view meals as a tool for survival, but a way to satisfy their need to try something new. For example, viral recipes often pop up on people’s social media pages. At times, the list of ingredients mentioned do not match with what people have in their pantry. Because of that, more ingredients are purchased, leaving exisiting ones to rot at the bottom.

To combat those problems, it is important to create awareness on the side effects of food waste. Various platforms are now available to educate consumers on this situation. To a certain extent, the government should take part in making sure food is not easily thrown away. Food content on social media that showcase excess food waste must be prohibited. Information on food donations or people in areas that lack decent meals should also be promoted to educate viewers on their actions that often lead to food waste.

In conclusion, the problem with people wasting food comes from the underlying cause of lifestyle changes. In order to fix this issue, awareness and education from the government need to be implemented.