In many countries these days, the number of people continuing their education after school has increased, and the range of courses available at universities and colleges has also increased. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Not only has the number of people continuing their education after school graduation, but also the number of courses available has increased. Education has already contributed greatly in society and this opportunity to enhance skills or knowledge will have a positive outcome.

Education has always had a clear structure initiating in school and followed up by some individuals attending university. School dropouts have been an issue in countries where families cannot afford higher education, leading them to work life at a very young age. This has been addressed by bringing new education opportunities with shorter and more specific courses to anyone interested. Standard education is not the only career opportunity. Due to the new technology in hands, access to online courses in free platforms such as YouTube is possible. Moreover, universities and colleges have expanded their reach, giving access to future students the education they desire whether is in person or even around the world with online classes. The demand for the latter has grown substantially since lock down occurred during COVID-19, changing society’s view of education completely.

These advances in education have also widened the professional scope granting any interested person to explore and find their true calling or specialise in a specific subject at any age. Undergraduate degrees, MAs, Phd’s, intensive courses and even professional training are only some of all the options, both in person or online. These courses can go from the basics of woodshop to a top tier Artificial Intelligence degree. In the graphic design industry for instance, there are numerous paths to take. Some of these would be: traditional Graphic Designer, Branding Specialist, 3D Artist, Motion Grapher, User Interface designer and numerous more. In order to specialise in one, the only step to take is to search what type of course will suit best.

In conclusion, continuing to learn and develop new skills will never be a negative aspect. Higher education at any level can help us stay updated not only with the subject but also with how technology might contribute and take part. This is only the start of what education can bring and I strongly believe it will be a great asset for the future generations.