In many countries today the retirement age from work has been raised. Do the advantages of raising the retirement age from work outweigh the disadvantages?

Increasing the retirement age is common in many countries today. Although increasing the retirement age has obvious benefits, I feel the disadvantages are also huge

On the one hand, advances in health care and medical technology are growing, people are living longer and longer, leading to an increasing elderly population. Therefore, countries are adjusting the retirement age to ensure the sustainability of pension and social security systems. When the retirement age increases, workers will continue to work without having to retire too early, which means eliminating the shortage of labor resources.

On the other hand, increasing the retirement age may have certain benefits but also potential challenges such as direct impacts on health and labor performance. Seniors may have difficulty meeting work demands even after periods of rest. Without proper care and support, seniors may have difficulty maintaining their quality of life after retirement.

In short, increasing the retirement age in many countries has economic changes. While it can help address the financial strains of an aging population and maintain the social security system, it also raises concerns related to the age and well-being of older workers.