In many countries, traditional customs are being lost as people adopt modern lifestyles. Do you think this trend is positive or negative

Globalisation has had a major impact on traditional customs and cultures around the world. Although globalization offers every local culture an opportunity to be globally recognized and reknown, it also results in people practicing globally accepted trends and fashions more. This shift in global audience causes identity and existence of traditional customs on risk making globalization a bad development.

Globalization itself is not a bad development. It has major benefits in trades, tourism and international exchanges. It allows individuals chance to explore and indulge in global affairs, trends, culture, places. It allows local cultures to be globally known through tourism and other experiences. There are many such examples of traditions which were once locally celebrated and but now has gained global recognition due to globalization like Chrismas, Holi, Diwali. On other hand, globalization has also resulted in dissolution of bad social cultures like Dowry Culture, Sati Pratha. But the positives of globalization on traditions are only limited to those few examples.

There are countless negative effects of globalization. Exposure of international trends and cultures has negatively influenced youths towards their own culture. The trends of social media has negatively influenced people to try new globally accepted things leaving behind their own cultures. There are some cases of people being embarrassed of their own cultures just because it is not popular enough. This common mindset brought by globalization has resulted adversely in local cultures. In addition to that, with globalization people leaving their own country to go to foreign country is also rising. Although, initially everyone plans to comeback to their own country but only few of them really come back. Others get settled in the foreign lands and leave their local festivals, traditions and cultures behind. More importantly when people move permanently to a new country their future generations grow up in foreign enviornment without any knowledge about their origins and traditions. Ultimately due to lack of international exposure, native audience practices and cultural shifts these traditional cultures disappear completely.

In conclusion, although globalisation can help local cultures and traditions gain international recognition, I believe it has a greater negative impact on traditional customs. The influence of global trends, changing lifestyles and international migration can gradually reduce people’s connection with their own cultures and put their survival at risk.