In many countries, traditional customs are being lost. Why do you think this is? What could schools and parents do to keep traditional customs alive?

Humans are at the pinnacle in the dimensions of science and innovation. We rely solely on technology in every sphere of our lives, which has resulted in diminished use and significance of customs in everyday life.

The majority has stopped professing ancient traditions as they feel that if tested on the parameters of modern science, they will have no practical standing in their contemporary world. With the change in the lifestyle and generation, most customs are outdated as dressing styles, eating habits, and working manners are swiftly evolving. Many customs or traditions against the parameters of modern human rights have been outlawed by administrations, thereby restricting their usage. Furthermore, shortcomings in the knowledge of applications and the positive impacts of observing customs have resulted in a sharp decline in its popularity in several communities. In South-East Asia, the colonial era’s shadow has pressured the population living in commonwealth countries to adhere to the western lifestyle. It has resulted in ignoring their culture and losing cultural identity to foreign superpowers.

Parents must become role models by following all the customs to inculcate them in their children’s daily lives.

Parents should spend time with children to educate children regarding the eminence of customs.

In schools, the academic curriculum must incorporate information about the history and the significance of observing customs. Children must be encouraged to participate in tours of museums and customary sites to examine various traditions.