In many countries, truancy* is a worrying problem for both parents and educators.What are the causes of truancy, and what may be the effects on the child and the wider community?

In most countries, school absence have become a significant affair in the community. Causes includes laziness and the fear of getting bad grades. In longer term this can lead to community underdevelopment and child illiteracy.

Firstly, truancy can occur due to child unmotivated to go school. As a result, they might accused for being lazy . Another cause is that when the child cannot cop with homework, his grades might fall which in turn causing distress, not only for the child, but also for the parents as well. For instance, when the school contact the parents for a meeting after an exam to reveal their child grade. As a consequence, the student will absence because of the fear of punishment.

Secondly, community’s growth is mainly depends on the younger generations. One of the disadvantages for this issue is that the community will fall behind. As a result, professional personal deficiency and the high cost that could paid in order to reach to one. Additionally , Aadulthood illiteracy will eventually increase. Because of the low number of children attaining the school, which in turn has a negative impact on the society. For instance, Singapore is one of the developed contries, has a law that force children to attain school till high school, as a consequence, the illiteracy rate is below 5 %.

In conclusion, truancy has a bad outcome for both adolescent and society. Community underdevelopment and lack of professional handwork are the biggest disadvantages.