In many countries, truancy* is a worrying problem for both parents and educators.What are the causes of truancy, and what may be the effects on the child and the wider community?

Teenagers truancy is a real concern for society as it damages the younger generation’s future. I believe there are three main causes for this matter and two main problems stemming from this and I explain it here.

Firstly, if a student does not find the school interesting, it has the potential to skip the school. Nowadays, with widespread life style of searching the pleasure and enjoyment, it is really hard for teenagers to find education enjoyable. For example it has been seen that the majority of children love to watch TV but almost none of them will do their homework willingly. Secondly, Teenagers need of acceptance and approval by their friends can sometimes make them take risky decisions. For instance, when the majority of a group of friend decide for skip school and play in a park, all the members of that group are going to do truancy. Finally, if the teens could comprehend the perks of being highly educated and also the result of truancy, they would have the motivation to remain at school.

Regarding the effects of school truancy, the first effect can be the distraction from studies. Playing outside with a group of friend instead of probably boring classrooms sometimes is an obvious pick. Surely, one or two times skipping class is not harmful, but if this habit become repetitive, certainly it will takes the young person’s focus away from the educations, and in severe cases, even student’s graduation will be in jeopardy. Finally, spending time outside the school and in unsupervised environment combined the curiosity of teenagers can lead to awful choices. For example trying alcohol and drugs is common in these situations and there also is the fear addictions.

Overall, the main causes for truancy is the teenagers not finding the school interesting and also the need of approval from their friends and the main effects stemming from this problem is risk of not graduating from school and in severe cases, alcohol and drug abuse.