In many countries, truancy * is a worrying problem for both parents and educators. What are the causes of truancy, and what may be the effects on the child and the wider community? (* truancy = the situation when a child pretends to go to school but in fact goes somewhere else, for example to play unsupervised. The verb is 'to play truant from school.')

Truancy is indeed a worrying problem for both parents and educators. The causes of truancy are wide and ranges from the people around them to the institutions they’re a part of.

Let’s take a look at the first possible cause which is peer pressure. Pre-teens and teens usually fall into the group of vulnerable people, who easily succumb to peer pressure. In an increasingly digital world, the struggle to fit in socially has only gotten worse. Peer pressure can lead to kids going way out of their way and putting themselves at risk, all for a few cheers from their friends. This can include bunking classes and engaging in activities that might otherwise seem completely bizarre, and in extreme cases, even illegal. The effects this can have on children is very detrimental. A seemingly harmless situation can very quickly spiral down into something beyond control when it involves only a bunch of hot blooded teenagers looking for social validation.

The second cause is none other than the families of the children. If is child is comes from an environment where they don’t feel seen, appreciated or isn’t disciplined properly, there are higher chances of the said child acting out. This has both short term and lasting effects on the child. In short term, a lack of a safe space might lead the child to slack off in their studies, resulting in poor grades. In long term, this can lead to many serious mental health issues for the child. For example, a lot of children who grow up without being appreciated enough for their efforts, end up having string people pleasing tendencies when they get older.

Finally, one of the major causes for truancy can be the schools themselves. Bullying in schools is as rampant as it ever was. Very recently, there was a news that shocked India to its core, when a 9th class student from Kerala took his own life as a result of constant ragging from classmates. Environments like these put the children at risk both mentally and physically, leading to unpredictable situations such as, truancy.

To sum it up, peer pressure, dysfunctional parenting and unsafe school environments are the main causes of truancy. The effects, if curbed early are inconsequential, such as, poor grades. However if the issues are not dealt with at a grassroot level as quickly as possible, the effects can be life altering for the children.