In many countries, truancy * is a worrying problem for both parents and educators. What are the causes of truancy, and what may be the effects on the child and the wider community? (* truancy = the situation when a child pretends to go to school but in fact goes somewhere else, for example to play unsupervised. The verb is 'to play truant from school.')

Nowadays, there is a growing concern among adults and teachers regarding the substantial amount of truancy being done by children, which poses significant threat to their mental and physical health. The primary contributors to this truancy issue are parent’s gaudiness and social media. However, this situation can be rectified through effective parenting and more control over their watching.

One of the principal causes of truancy is the mother or father parenting to the child. For instance, the parents not caring for the child well-being in school or their academic experience. Which will leave the child in an anxiety and frustration having no one to talk about their conflicts and relationships, causing the kid to run away from school and not attending their required classes. Moreover, the child excessive usage of social media can cause them to get influenced just to have a sense of dominance and coolness. Many influencers on apps, like Instagram and Tiktok, give harmful and abrupt ideas to children just to get views on their videos.

Examining the effects of truancy reveals that underperformance in academic pursuits is perhaps the most consequential outcome for students. This underachievement can lead to awful grades and can ruin their mentality. Having poor mentality leads to barbaric manners and no one to hang out with, which with the long-term can cause depression and insomnia that can’t be cured. Furthermore, physical health will worsen causing unhealthy dietary and obesity.

In conclusion, the phenomenon of truancy is primarily driven by factors of bad parenting and unrestrained amount of social media. Causing the child to suffer with mentality and physical problems over the long-term. Addressing the roots of truancy in a short time can be essential for fostering the child and keeping all the risks afar.