Since the beginning of the 20th century, the number of endangered species has increased significantly and we have witnessed more mass extinctions in this period than in any other period of time. State some reasons for this and provide possible solutions.

One of the widely discussed issues nowadays is the rapid decline of endangered species and their increasing extinction rates over the last century. From my point of view, this is mainly due to uncontrolled hunting and increasing levels of environmental pollution. There are several measures that should be immediately implemented to solve this problem.

The first reason for the sharp decline in wildlife populations is overhunting. Poaching is prevalent in many countries, and frequently the law does not prevent it. In reality, killing rare animal species for decoration, clothing, and other things can become a crucial factor in their extinction. As a result, a lot of endangered species can encounter a dramatic decline in population, and some of them can even completely disappear. Mass extinction must not be ignored by governments. Making stricter laws and strengthening surveillance systems for illegal hunting are essential steps here. Some countries in the modern world have already used advanced technologies to track poaching and have toughened the punishment for such activities. The same system should be implemented in all countries to address this problem.

Another important reason for the increased number of endangered species is environmental pollution. In other words, industrial emissions and excessive human activity often lead to water and air pollution and destroy natural habitats for many species. For instance, a massive garbage island was formed in the Pacific Ocean, putting in danger the existence of local marine life. One possible solution is to increase people’s awareness of this issue. A lot of organizations teach people to care about the environment from a young age, conduct events, and attract volunteers. All these activities are extremely important because every person must make a contribution to saving our planet from pollution.

In conclusion, the increasing number of endangered species is always a result of human activities. Therefore, it is essential to combine the contributions of governments and ordinary people to save wildlife populations from extinction.