In many countries women are allowed to take maternity leave from their jobs during the first months after the birth of their baby. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In some countries, there is an opportunity for the mother to take maternity leave from work on the first month after the birth of the new born.This essay will argue that the advantages of this outweigh the drawbacks. The essay will first demonstrate that the maternity leave will help to ensure the health of the mother and child and make them financially stable, as well as some minor disadvantages, namely hiring a new member to replace the mother during this vacation.

One significant advantage of maternity leave is that it will help women and children keep themselves healthy for their upcoming lives.

Giving birth is considered a challenging moment for females,which takes many physical and emotional energies. Therefore,during this period, mothers need to spend a lot of quality time with their newborns,which positively impacts early child development. For example,a survey in Asia shows that 95% of jobholder mothers recover their health condition during this vacation. Moreover,paid maternity leave helps a woman become stronger financially. Some families depend on their mother’s salary. For this reason, if a mother does not get paid maternity leave,she has to go back to work early, which affects the childcare.In most Indian families, the mother’s salary is necessary to support the family.

Opponents of this say that companies need to hire new staff to fill up mothers’ places during this period. However,there is actually no evidence to support this topic, and other members of these companies can fill up this gap. For instance, countries such as Finland and Denmark do not hire new members for maternity leave.

In conclusion, having considered both the negative and positive views of maternity leave policy, I completely believe that its advantages outweigh its