In many countries,primary and secondary schools close for two month or more in the summer holidays.what this the value of long school holidays ?what are the arguments in favour of shorter school holidays?

Nowadays, each primary or secondary school has two months or more for closing in summer holidays in many countries. This essay will discuss the advantages of long school holidays and the potential drawbacks.

First and foremost, long school holidays provide the mental and physical rest not only for students but also for teachers. After the academic years which generate a wide range of stress and pressure, they need a break to recharge their energy and improve their mental health. As a result, when they return to school and are exposed to a large amount of academic knowledge, students and teachers can study and learn more properly and effectively. For example, in Vietnam, many primary and secondary schools, even high schools, always have an awareness of the importance of long school holidays, resulting in the application of this strategy regardless of the quality of these schools.

However, there are also some arguments in favor of shorter school holidays. First of all, a long holiday leads to students forgetting previously learned material easily. This is mainly because when they do not have to study for a long time, each day in this period could be full of video games, watching TV, hanging out with their friends. The appearance of academic knowledge could vanish during this time, leading to the losing of academic momentum. Secondly, many parents struggle to find supervision during long holidays. When parents who often have a large amount of work, causing the limited time for childcare. In addition, there would have the work-life conflict of them, even boost their pressure and cause many mental well-being for parents. It is actually the parental challenges.

In conclusion, while long school holidays offer valuable rest and personal growth, shorter, more frequent breaks may help reduce learning loss and promote more equitable learning outcomes. Personally, I strongly believe that it is essential to have long holidays to improve individuals’ health.