In many parts of the world, families were larger in the past because people had more children. Do you think there were more advantages or disadvantages to being a part of a large family in the past?

Most people around the world used to live in large families with a lot of children in the past.From my vantage point,I believe that the merits of living in a large family outweigh the demerits due to some reasons which will be explained in detail in the forthcoming paragraphs.

On the one hand,there are some benefits of having a lot of family members.Firstly,individuals can get support from their family members when they face difficulties in their lives.To be more precise,the elder family members can help to solve problems and give advice from their own experience which is an important aspect to overcome challenges.Another glaring advantage of living in large families, children can learn social skills from their young ages which helps to succeed in their future careers.The reason is that they have to deal with their family members to do their house chores or play together.

On the other hand, there are some negative sides of large families. First and foremost, most households with a lot of children face financial difficulties as the main part of family budget is often used for health insurance, education and daily needs of children. For example, education fee and health treatment require a lot of money especially when they get seriously sick or want to study abroad. Moreover,people may suffer from lack of privacy and noise in large families.As a result,they tend to be more opted to be stressed and have problems to focus on their work or study.

To conclude, even though living in large families cause some negative experience such as financial difficulties and not enough privacy, I believe that positive sides of having a lot of family members outnumber the negative sides as it helps people to develop both personally and professionally.