In many parts of the world today there is a profitable market for products which lighten or whiten people’s skin. Outline the reasons for using such products and discuss what effects they have in terms of health and society. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the modern world there are many products that has a potential to make people’s skin whiten or lighten. It is also a profitable market. These claims varies individual’s opinion which could be negative or positive.

In addition, In today’s world specially in the south asian region people still have some particular mindset about beauty. They consider having whiten or lighten skin is the definition of a beauty. Mostly the women uses these so called whitening product. This market is growing day by day. These products may make a woman’s skin whiten for a period of time but in the long term it cause various of health problem.

Moreover, using these products can bring some lightening for some time but whenever an individual stops using them that can cause various problems. Sometimes they get various of skin diseases because of that. It can cause skin cancer. But still the demand of these products are high. The targeted customer for these kind of products are mostly women. Most of the women does not know the harmful side of these products. They are not aware of its negative sides. These products might make them feel beautiful for some period of time but it causes danger to their skin. Products like fair and lovely , thanaka and ponds etc harms our skin severely. Recently in the newspaper there was an article about it where a woman used these kind of product and her skin was burned.

In conclusion, the effects of this products are significantly more harmful than most people realize. But still they are in high demand because of their marketing strategy. Awareness should be created about banning these kind of products.