In many parts of the world today there is a profitable market for products which lighten or whiten people’s skin. Outline the reasons for using such products and discuss what effects they have in terms of health and society. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, it is common for people to use skin products to whiten their skin color, leading the market to be successful. Due to the unreachable high beauty standards, people use these products, which results in skin problems and poor mental health.

Many countries with different cultures have their beauty standard, where having white skin is one of the most common ones for most countries. It is undeniable that most people consider white skin more attractive compared to darker tones. Therefore, there are many young women and men, mostly, trying their best to be appreciated by lightening their skin. By doing that, they believe they would feel self-fulfilment.

However, it is unhealthy if they use any products that are said to be the best. Bad quality products by unclear companies can lead to skin breakdown or even more serious problems like allergic reactions. Whitening lotion or cream contains high chemical elements that are often toxic. For instance, a person with dry and sensitive skin can easily get a rash or have acne after using the products. Another effect can be more psychologically negative. Since the person try to fit in the standard if they can’t get a lighter skin tone, they might start to compare themselves with naturally white people, leading them to depression. Depression can reslut in more dangerous consequences, such as surgery.

In conclusion, people are often influenced by the beauty standard to have fair skin and use anything to have white skin, which leads to mostly negative effects rather than positive. Starting from dealing with skin problems to having depression. These are the only few examples of those negative effects.