In many places around the world, the percentage of elderly people in the population has increased. Why is this the case? What are the benefits?

In some countries across the globe, the percentage of senior citizens in the population has grown. Advance research in healthcare and medicine is the primary reason why people live a longer life today. Not only does it benefit the grandchildren because they can spend more time together, but it also helps the country’s economy as many senior citizens continue to work and support their families.

The rise in the number of older population today is due to ground-breaking advancement in technology such as, X-ray machines, vaccines, and improved medicines. For example, people in the earlier times who suffered from minor conditions such as diareaha, often lost their lives. As compared to the recent times, the survival chances are high as most illnesses are well managed with medicines such antibiotics and painkillers. Additionally, there are many intrusive options available that can drastically improve quality of life such as, knee replacing surgeries, that equips adults to live a normal life.

Having more seniors in a society is fruitful for their future generation as they can spend more time together. Provided that they can pass their knowledge and traditions to their grand kids. Moreover, one can always learn from the mistakes of their elders and live a fulfilling life filled with values and traditions. Another advantage is that elderly presence could safeguard a secure environment in the neighbourhood as they know everyone. Furthermore, many elders chose to work which can further contribute to the economy and improve the financial conditions of their family. Conseqently, many individuals choose to volunteer in community services which further strengthens the economy of the nation.

Although some might argue, that elderly population places stress on the tax system as most countries cover their medical bills. However, I believe the benefits of having wiser people in a society which creates a safe environment, will definalty outweigh the monetary benefits one could get.

In conclusion, science has made it possible for people to survive and live a healthier longer life. Privided that, it is advantageous for the youth of the nation as it opens endless avenues for them to learn from their elders. Additionally, many elder people play a significant role in positively contributing to the economics of their country.