Sakina Rasulova In the past, people used to repair broken items, but nowadays they tend to throw them away and buy new ones. What are the reasons for this? What is your opinion about this change

In today’s world individuals are mostly throwing away damaged item instead of fixing them. This trend can be attributed to the mass production and consumerism, and I am convinced that it detrimentally affects environment.

There are several factors which influence people’s attitudes towards broken items. First of all, nowadays due to large marketing strategies people believe that to feel happy they should purchase more goods. Therefore, repairing old goods will not bring joy, while purchasing new products will please them. Moreover, the economy has changed in the way that products are manufactured quickly and cheaply, which cause mass production. So, comparing to the past when things were costing more money, now people can easily replace outdated items. However, mass production affects the product’s quality: they are having less life span. That’s why pieces break down faster and more often than it was in the past – it became unreasonable to fix them every time.

I firmly believe that this trend showcase that modern society prioritise the convenience-oriented lifestyle. However, society’s current approach can adversely impact the environment. To begin with, purchasing more products results in excessive waste generation. Furthermore, unsustainable waste production is causing resource depletion. So, throwaway culture is causing too much damage. Measures should be taken to change this situation. For instance, if individuals tried to reuse and repair items, the need to purchase new products would decrease, leading to a reduction in waste.

In conclusion, there are several motives for this change. Unfortunately, this trend contributes to the environmental degradation.