In many places, people’s lifestyles are changing rapidly, and this affects family relationships. Do you think the advantages of such developments outweigh the disadvantages?

In many parts of the world, the way people live has changed drastically, impacted family relationships. I think this brings more harm than good, I will present my point of view in the essay below.

There are several reasons why changing lifestyles bring about various positive impacts on family connections. Firstly, people are paying more attention to their well-being nowadays, and therefore family members tend to go to fitness centres together to lead healthier lifestyles. For example, family members spend time exercising together every morning or every night after meals to help narrow the generation gap. At that time, people can chat and communicate with each other more. Secondly, advanced technologies have helped to make communicating easier. Children who study abroad or study away from home can use the facetime function of smartphone and laptop to communicate with their parents without having to meet face-to-face.

Despite the above arguments, I firmly believe that changes in lifestyles have detrimental effects when it comes to family relationships. For one, the overuse of such technological devices mentioned above can also hurt family relationship. Immersing ourselves in technological devices, accessing social networks too often such as Facebook or Tik Tok wastes time uselessly without time for family and relatives, making the distance gradually distant. Furthermore, career orientation makes people lose work-life balance. Each person’s work is different, so the lifestyle and hours of living also follow it and no longer coincide with family members. For example, young people often tend to leave work late and gather after every hour and when they get home, their parents are also bedtime so they can’t talk together, gradually the distance will also grow accordingly.

In conclude, while there are some advantages to lifestyle changes, I would argue that there are more disadvantages to doing so.