In many places, people’s lifestyles are changing rapidly, and this affects family relationships. Do you think the advantages of such developments outweigh the disadvantages?

It is increasingly common for people to change their lifestyle, which probably affect their family life. While a new lifestyle might require families to make more effort to adapt or may have negative impacts, I strongly agree that the benefits overshadow its drawbacks.

On the one hand, a new role or environment in office sometimes makes people adapt to changes their lifestyle. To illustrate, when someone gets promoted to a higher position, they have to adapt to the phase, volume, and targets of their role. As a result, they become workaholics and prefer to spend their time finishing their assignments on the weekend. Therefore, they seldom make family time such as hanging out or going on staycations with their family, compared to before. Furthermore, because of the high targets at the office, they could easily get stressed, making it hard for them to communicate calmly with the people around them, especially their family. Thus, for those reasons, the new lifestyle like workaholic brings negative impacts for harmonious family.

On the other hand, the workaholic lifestyle demonstrates greater dedication in the office. The better performance we deliver, the higher the salary we can earn. In some situation, particularly for poorer families, money plays a crucial role in fulfilling their basic needs and improving their standard of living. For example, people prefer to reduce their leisure time and work as much as they can to earn more many for their family as a priority. Because families have to budget for several basic needs, such as paying rent, funding their children education, or even saving for their retirement. Therefore, having a workaholic lifestyle will increase their salary and standard of living.

In conclusion, while a workaholic lifestyle could reduce family harmony, it can improve the family’s standard of living. Therefore, on balance, I remain firmly convinced that the benefits overshadows its drawbacks.