In many places, people's lifestyles are changing rapidly, and this affects family relationships. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

In the modern era, innovative technologies are affecting the relationship between parents and children. I contend that this development has both advantages and disadvantages at the same time, for the reason that the new lifestyle assists families to communicate with each other from a distance. However, highly developed technologies may be the cause of some disputes in the family.

One of the prevalent advantages of this trend is that innovative technologies, such as smart devices, laptops, and iPads, provide the ability to contact people with each other. Since parents are able to call their children no matter where they are, it keeps the relationship bolder. Students who study abroad, for instance, can communicate with their family daily, so they do not feel emotional distance. Thus, modern lifestyle can be beneficial to save relationships, if daily members ought to relocate to other countries.

Nevertheless, social media and other types of online websites may have an adverse impact on family relationships, as children tend to simulate what they see on their mobile phones. As long as every country has their own speciality regarding family, there might be conflicts when children compare themselves with other children who live in different counties. For example, Western countries’ families usually raise children with traditional style, while Eastern families give independence to children for their choices. This situation may lead to disputes between parents and children, resulting in negative effects.

In conclusion, in my point of view, a modern lifestyle can be useful for saving communication between family members when there is distance. Despite this benefit, social media may influence children’s minds negatively, by comparing themselves with others.