In many schools and universities today, women have a tendency to study the humanities (arts and languages), while men more often major in science related subjects. Some believe that this tendency should be changed. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There has been a difference in subject preferences between girls who often enroll in artistic subjects and boys who tend to study subjects related to science. This phenomenon could be explained by various factors and I reckon that it is better not to apply any changes to this tendency.

The aforementioned trend is based on gender-specific personalities and competences. First and foremost, there is evidence proved that girls have better capacity to memorize data; therefore, they perform excellently in arts and languages courses. However, boys share common interests in majors related to science, physics, and technology due to the possesion of the ability to analyse. Additionally, people tend to excel in their preferred subjects, leading to the decisions to study in their favorite classes.

One more reason is the traditional belief, which plays a key role in selecting their orientation. Parents usually orientate their boys towards fields related to technology and science, potentially contributing to becoming a breadwinner in the future. Conversely, girls are forced to study artistic majors so they can undertake house chores.

From my perspective, pupils ought to have the rights to decide their subjects which can aids them in their academic journeys. Thus, parents should not pressure their children to take part in unwanted classes as it results in resentment and negativity towards their education.

To sum up, distinct characteristics between males and females are the reasons of this trend and I firmly believe that no changes should be adapted to this tendency so students can freely participate in majors that they find suitable for themselves.