In many societies, there is a growing emphasis on sustainable living and reducing environmental impact. What are the challenges of adopting a sustainable lifestyle? What practical actions can individuals take to contribute to sustainability? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, many countries are trying to both implant a sustainable lifestyle in their people and decrease negative impacts in the environment. This essay will discuss the obstacles in adopting sustainable living and offer some measures people can do to take part in sustainability.

There are several challenges countries might face when trying to foster a sustainable living on their people. To begin with, in many nations, awareness on sustainability is still rare as the government may only focus on some short-term problems. For example, in several under developed countries, poverty is a much more significant problem than environmental issue. Therefore, the government might only put their resources on overcoming that situation instead of campaigning about sustainability. Moreover, sustainable lifestyle could cost more money and resources for the citizens. For instance, the use of electric cars is one of the way to reduce environmental impact. However, the price of this vehicle sometimes is more than fuel-based vehicle, causing people to keep using the conventional ones.

Despite the challenges, some simple but effective measures can be taken by individuals to mitigate environmental problems and take part in sustainability. Firstly, people can reduce and recycle their waste at home. For example, they can bring their own bag when shopping and re-purposing their plastic bottles to be flower pots. These actions, if done by all, can contribute to the reduction of waste around the globe. In addition to that, reforestation can be a practical way of sustaining green spaces in many areas. Trees can help cleaning the air by absorbing carbon dioxide, leading to reduced level of pollution. As a result, people can breathe cleaner air, and health problems targeting respiration system can be avoided.

In conclusion, in adopting sustainable lifestyle, there can be challenges such as lack of awareness and limited resources. However, individuals can contribute to achieve such lifestyle by reducing and recycling waste, as well as doing reforestation. Therefore, simple but effective measures can be done to reach the sustainable living.