In many urban areas, planners tend to arrange shops, schools, offices, and homes in specific areas and separate them from one another. Do the benefits of this trend outweigh its drawbacks?

Urban planning plays a crucial role in every city, and some people claim that it is beneficial for society when shops, schools, offices, and homes are built in certain areas separately. I believe that it brings more drawbacks such as creating inconvenience, time consuming, and massive energy consumption from travelers. The following paragraphs will provide a detailed explanation of my opinion.

On the one hand, it is more efficient for develops to construct shops, educational places, workplaces, and residents in specific quarters as they can manage resources more effectively in one place. For examples, some megacities like Osaka, office towers and restaurants are located in Umeda, while houses are located in relatively far from city center. This, in turns, also makes appealing neighborhood for tourists as they can enjoy various local food in one place. Moreover, separating housing from amenities contributes to lower noise pollution for residents.

On the other hand, such urban plannings lead to time consuming as commuters have to take longer distances compared with the condition where offices are located in nearby or within residential areas. Furthermore, it is difficult to enjoy recreational activities such as shopping even in holidays. Beyond inconvenience and longer traveling time, higher energy consumption issue can be emerged as individuals use different means of transport including using own vehicles. As a consequent, energy overconsumption causes greenhouse gas emissions, thereby resulting in environmental degradation and climate change.

In conclusion, planning housing areas separating from shops, offices, and schools bring certain advantages such as arranging infrastructures and resources more efficiently and less noise pollution. Nevertheless, I believe that the disadvantages significantly outweigh the advantages as it creates lower time efficiency for commuters, more greenhouse gas emissions as well as environmental challenges.