In marriage today, some argue that it is the responsibility of both spouses to earn a living for the family. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people think that both spouses should have their own salaries for living. In my opinion, it is important for a family to have a double income for the following reasons.

Firstly, needs are getting more expensive each year, including basic needs such as food, rent, housing, education, gasoline, etc. Having a family means more needs to be fulfilled; you need to spend extra money for that. Moreover, you can save money as an emergency fund in case of an accident, disaster, or death in your household. For example, if your husband were to get into a car accident and need to rest for a year so he cannot work properly. If you only have an income from your husband, it would be hard to fulfill your family’s needs while your husband cannot work.

Secondly, the condition of the economy nowadays is unpredictable. Investing your money in assets, gold, or shares can secure your family’s life in the future. Having a double income would make it easier and faster to invest, so you can have a good value for your investment portfolio in the next few years. For example, you have a plan to send your children to college abroad in the next 20 years. If you begin today to invest your money in valuable assets such as gold or shares, in the next 20 years, the price of your assets will be higher than today, so you can give a high-quality education to your children.

Finally, having a family is a big responsibility. There might be unpredictable situations in life. A double income not only gives you financial security but also welfare for your family.