In more and more countries, people give money on special occasions rather than personally giving gifts. Why might this be the case? Is this a positive or negative development?

In recent years, giving money on special days has become a popular trend in almost all countries around the world, instead of giving a personal gift to others like in the past. In my viewpoint, a main reason for this trend is the change of era we are living in. I also believe that giving money on special occasions instead of giving a personal gift is a negative development in people and traditional values.

One main reason that makes people prefer to give money rather than give gifts is the busy lifestyle, so they do not have time to prepare a personal gift for others. People nowadays have to follow their career and do not have much time for spiritual values, so when they have to attend a special day, they should prefer to choose the fastest and most convenient gift for others. With many people, money is the most convenient and fastest gift because it can save time for people, instead of taking a lot of time to choose a gift, and even if people do not know how much that other person feels when receiving a gift.

However, giving money instead of giving a gift is a negative trend in this era. When people give money to others, the person who receives the money can feel that the giver does not have respect for them, lead to the relationship becoming worse and may break. When adults give children money can lead to a change of ideology and become a bad habit for children. For example, one traditional culture of Vietnam when Lunar New Year is considered lucky money for children; some children may not respect but they may also express a bad attitude if the money is not enough for them.

In conclusion, people in almost all countries around the world would prefer giving money on a special occasion rather than giving a personal gift because of the change of era, and it has become a negative development in the ideology of all people.