In order to become a successful sportsperson, some people argue that you need to have access to the latest technology and most up to date equipment. Other people believe that these things are not necessary for sporting success. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Although many people think that the latest technology and equipment are obligatory for becoming a successful sportsperson, I partially agree with this statement, considering that it is the sheer will and motivation to get better as sportsperson is crucial to kick start their career.

Firstly, people who believe that to have a successful career in sports they need to enroll into online programs, along with use of expensive sports equipment available in the market, so they can quickly master a new activity. Which is not true at all, even though these programs and equipment can make them acquire new skills, only their motivation and determination can help them to become successful. There are many prime examples of players who have had successful careers in sports despite coming from a lower economic background. For instance, in a biopic movie of Geeta Phogat. It was portrayed despite not having access to equipment and technology. She became India’s first ever gold medalist in wrestling at the commonwealth games in 2010.

On the other hand, taking from this example, when she had to shift to another state to practice for the Olympics to get access to new technology and skills. In my opinion if she had access to this technology beforehand in her own village, which would have been great boon and less hardship for her career.

In conclusion, I believe with a mix of both new technology and talent a person can have a successful career in sports.