In order to solve traffic problems, governments should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation.

Nowadays, traffic issues are considered to elevate at such an alarming rate. An increasing number of people think that the government should penalize private car owners with high taxes along with upgrading public vehicles by using the budget. From my perspectives, I assure that this method poses both benefits and hindrances to society.

On the one hand,raising automobiles taxes would impede the low-average income citizen to travel by private car. To say more clearly, people would afford a car but the massive taxes will prevent them from using it as they also have to pay the electricity or water bill. As a result, only the wealthy people, as a privilege, can respond to the penalties for using private cars, so there will be less automobiles. Hence, more people will be inclined to choose public transit which creates a win-win process since they don’t have to worry about financial problems as long as the streets will not be jammed with many cars.

On the other hand, the car manufacturing companies would probably face the insufficiency of product issues. In other words, public transportation will take priority over the private ones as individuals do not have the ability to cope with heavy taxes. Therefore, less people choose personal vehicles which may put huge pressure on transit agencies. Moreover, not all the countries have a stable enough background to convert cars’ fuel into eco-friendly ones, not to mention building special traffic systems.

In a nutshell, punishing private car owners with high taxes and using the money to upgrade the public transit is such a convenient and beneficial process. However, the government also needs to mutually and care about the transportation industry to balance the financial scale together with solving the traffic problems.