In order to solve traffic problems, governments should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution?

The people who owe a personal vehicle should be taxed excessively by the government to solve the issues caused by enormous use of them. And those collected funds should be used to enhance public transit. This essay will suggest that reduction in traffic and pollution are the biggest advantages, but problems during emergency situations and convenience are the primary drawbacks.

The main advantage to levy high tax on private car owners is that it will reduce the amount of traffic congestion. Due to the extra money they will need to pay other than the basic expense of a car such as petrol,maintenance, and insurance. This will eliminate the unnecessary use of cars, which is when people travel alone just for their comfort or to flex their cars. Moreover, it will not only reduce the pollution and save a huge amount of fossil fuels but also help the government bodies to collect funds which can be used for making the public transport more comfortable, easily accessible, and affordable to people. For instance, There is a city in Maharashtra where people are fined heavily to break traffic rules. And the revenue generated is later used for treatment of patients who face major accidents and can’t afford to pay the hospital bills. Statistics show that due to this solution people follow the traffic rules strictly and it has saved the lives of a lot of people.

Despite these advantages, the convenience of public transport is the major issue. Many people complain that the buses and trains are never on time. Due to which a lot of valuable time is wasted in traveling by public transport. Moreover, when there is an emergency situation and you have to reach somewhere on time such as an airport to catch up a flight or to the hospital for some urgent health issues. At these situations the unavailabilty of public transport can be a serious concern. For example, My relative’s wife got a heart attack and at that situation the ambulance was not available and he didn’t have his own vehicle to take her to the nearby hospital and indeed lead to her death.

In conclusion, Imposing high taxes on people owning a private vehicle can be advantageous if it allows people to easily access public transports and reduce traffic related issues. However, the government should work and find a solution to such emergency situations too.