In order to solve traffic problems, governments should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution?

Issues related to the traffic are frequently discussed these days. It is argued that one of the possible ways to solve this issue is that the taxation of car owners should be seriously conducted by the government in order to develop public transportation. Therefore, the desirable and undesirable effects of this issue will be examined in this essay.

One the one side of the argument, there are some benefits associated with taxation. The first advantage to consider is that it can lessen problems with traffic jams. To explain, when the government issues regulations taxing car owners heavily, it tends to reduce the number of private car users on the road as they do not want to spend too much on cars, thereby reducing traffic on road. A good example of this is Japan, considered as the lightest traffic country in the world due to the fact that their government highly taxes car owners. Another compelling reason is that increasing taxes allows the country to handle global warming problems. Carbon Dioxide, mostly produced by gasoline cars, is regarded as a main factor of global warming. By heavily taxing, commuters will turn to use public transport rather than private cars, thus providing the government to effectively cope with this ongoing world problem.

However, the negative impacts cannot be overlooked. The most obvious drawback is that it causes commuting trouble to people in poor areas. Most developing countries and under-developed countries, especially in rural areas, suffer from scarcity of public transports, whereas people are unaffordable to cars due to high tax. For instance, people in Heti are encountering problems with travel because it has only two buses in the suburbs provided for people to travel to the city.

In conclusion, although highly taxing on car owners has a variety of benefits, there are also significant drawbacks as mentioned above. Therefore, the government should provide more public transport in poor areas.