In order to solve traffic problems, governments should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution?

There is a school of thought that authorities should impose a higher tax on people who possess their own cars and invest the money in mass transit in order to improve traffic conditions. In this essay, I will break down both the negative and positive sides of this proposal.

On the one hand, citizens’ ability to possess a personal vehicle would be limited, especially for the lower and middle classes, due to the rising expenses required to own a car. As a result, residents who often have to travel long distances between different regions of the country would find this tax policy extremely inconvenient, especially in nations where public transportation is not the focal investment, unlike in most developing Asian countries.

On the other hand, I am convinced that this solution also brings various benefits for a combination of reasons. First and foremost, as the ability of citizens to possess a private vehicle is reduced, there would be a significant impact on the volume of private vehicles traveling on the road, paving the way for less intensity during peak hours in urban areas. Besides, a decreased amount of vehicles could simultaneously reduce the rate of traffic accidents. Another compelling reason is that an improved system of public transportation, which allows residents to travel to even rural areas, will encourage people to adopt a more affordable and safer means of transportation.

In conclusion, I believe that although this solution could pose various inconveniences to some groups of people, it could bring numerous benefits in improving traffic circulation, reducing traffic accidents, and encouraging citizens to use mass transit.