In order to solve traffic problems, governments should tax private car owners heavily and use themoney to improve public transportation. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution?

To resolve the issue of traffic, authorities should impose heavy tax private cars and utilise the amount to improve public transportation. Using government operated transports may help in reducing the pollution and also minimise the carbon footprint in environment, while it invites some negative aspects such as irrelevant imposing by government and creates a financial burden on middle class society.

The main benefit for charging tax on privately-owned cars is, it saves times. By implanting the tax it alleviates the traffic and helps the people to reach on time by using public transportation. Moreover, it helps to dimmish the level of pollution in surrounding. For instance- in Delhi, odd-even concept was introduced to cut down the number of cars on road which caters the need of government to reduce the pollution level in city.

On the other side there are many drawbacks of enforcing the heavy taxation. Sometimes public authorities impose irrelevant tax, which ultimately increases the financial burden on middle class society. For instance- Tool tax brings charges in almost every state to caters the needs of proper road but sometimes they levy high amount which is insignificant. Additionally, High taxes discourage the car ownership, even where the public transports are inadequate.

In conclusion, Although, charging heavy tax on cars may result in less traffic jam but it also affects the pocket of owner negatively. Government should make a policy for imposing tax according to the amount of income so that it offers a reliability to public and for sustainable future.