In order to solve traffic problems, governments should tax private car owners heavily and use themoney to improve public transportation. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution?

In today’s technologically developing world, many families own more than one car, with both parents often having private cars. As a result, traffic jams are increasingly common. To solve this issue,it is suggested the government ought to charge higher fees for private car owners. The pros and cons of solving the problem in this way will be examined.

The main advantage of charging greater taxes is that the economic pressure will force people to give up their vehicles. For people whose salaries are average, the costs of maintaining a car, including fuel, switching engine oil, fixing damage that might occur, and vehicle taxes, can be difficult. As a result, a trend of ‘one family, one car’ could emerge, which would reduce traffic congestion.

Moreover, the money raised could be spent on providing improved public transport. For instance, in Japan, the bullet train, the fastest train service with a maximum speed of 320km/h, is faster than a normal automobile, so the traffic problems in Japan already solved with this kind of ideas which known as well-organized traffic city. If Mongolia, which has the most traffic congestion, implements those kinds of methods using taxes, rush hour congestion would be reduced.

Despite these advantages, this solution might face resistance from the public. Protests or demonstrations may occur if citizens oppose higher taxes on private vehicles. For example, protests in Mongolia, in 2022-2025, were driven by tax burdens.

In conclusion, the state needs to fund improvements to infrastructure. However, solving this problem by increasing taxes will not be popular.