In schools and universities, girls tend to choose arts while boys like science. What are the reasons for this trend and do you think this tendency should be changed?

It is conventional wisdom that women take care of the family and are caretakers, while men are the breadwinners. This belief, combined with antiquated notions that men excel in math and women do not, is the main reason why many parents push their sons to pursue science degrees while encouraging their daughters to follow art-related fields. I wholeheartedly believe that this pattern should be reversed.

To start with, science-related courses are associated with boys. Since this viewpoint is so ingrained in our culture, a large number of women have already come to embrace it. This is increasingly common in developing countries because parents anticipate that their males will pursue careers and that their daughters will get a moderate education, eventually getting married and starting a family. It seems that most nations charge more for scientific majors to attend school, which is why parents choose their boys to major in science. However, women must shoulder a lot of the family’s obligations even while they are in school, so they tend to favor courses that do not demand a lot of group projects, lab work, or hands-on learning.

The potential and capabilities of men and women are comparable. Many more women would succeed in science-related fields if they had equal opportunities. Renowned scientists like Emilie du Chatelet , Ada Lovelace, and Marie Curie have demonstrated that women are just as capable as men in the scientific domain. Even in the field of education, there should be an end to the egregious trend of gender discrimination. The good news is that women already make up half of the students in several top colleges studying engineering and technology. As a result, the time will come when parents’ emotional aversion or societal convention will allow their daughters to be equally skilled in any field, including science, as their males are.

In summary, female participation in all courses, including scientific majors, should be equitable in schools, colleges, and universities since women’s empowerment is crucial to a country’s overall growth. This tendency would lead to more favorable results and a thriving, prejudice-free society.