In schools and universities, girls tend to choose arts while boys like science. What are the reasons for this trend and do you think this tendency should be changed?

It is apparent that generally, in different educational levels, girls have a propensity for subjects relating to art majors while boys seem to be interested in science curricula. From my own perspective, the natural traits of personalities of these two genders are the reason underlying this pattern, and the current trend should not be manipulated but rather naturally chosen by one’s will.

To commence with, the difference between the inclination for majors of these two genders is influenced by their natural liking back from their childhood. While boys in their prior age seemed to be into robust technology gadgets or machinery robots, girls were likely to be more fragile than boys in terms of both mental and physical aspects, so having a penchant for dolls or drawings was what might be expected from girls as a whole. Besides, the majors’ representations behind those trivial-like favors can somehow demonstrate their overall choice and interests afterward: while robots or technology gadgets are many of the productions originated from the science realm, drawings and dolls specifically represent the art industry. This is because when boys spend their time immersing themselves in the science world via robots or science fiction movies, their tendency will probably be affected from time to time, therefore creating an unchanged habit and desire toward science-related subjects in general. Similarly, delving deeply into drawings and human-like dolls, the surroundings and habits will eventually expose these girls into the world of arts, ultimately influencing their later majors’ decisions in schools or colleges.

As the matter of the upcoming suggestion that whether the trend should be modified, the overall pattern should not be affected outwardly for several reasons. To begin with, not only is the plan difficult to carry out, but also it is unreasonable to forcefully change a person’s desire. Since the natural tendencies mostly generated the afterward inclinations, persuading one whose love is deeply rooted with one’s childhood shows minimal effect in the long run. Moreover, trying to manipulate their choices also means eradicating their rights to be their own selves, as they are not allowed to pursue their own dreams, but rather following the expectations to participate in what they are alienated from. Ultimately, the tendencies should be respected and sympathized rather than being manipulated or persuaded, so the overall pattern should be left to naturally develop, not disturbed by the outside factors.

In conclusion, the reason underlying common girls’ propensity for arts majors and boys’ interest in science-related subjects can be interpreted by the penchants back from their prior years. More importantly, this development should not be disturbed due to the aforementioned reasons.