In some areas of the US, a 'curfew' is imposed, in which teenagers are not allowed to be out of doors after a particular time at night unless they are accompanied by an adult. What is your opinion about this?

The integration of teenagers’ curfews has been one of the most widely debated topic throughout the history. While many argue that those type of restriction enhance the public safety and protect the juveniles, I strongly disagree with this policy, as it undermines the personal responsibility and not solving the root reason of naughty criminality and injuries.

One of the primary arguments for curfews is reducing the criminality rate and the insurance of youth safety. It is often claimed that the most common youth-related incidents, such as drinking alcohol or vandalism happen at night, without the elders’ view. Introducing the new layer of safeness, the impulsive behavior is considered to be restrained by the government. Furthermore, the majority of supporters referring to the fact that the greater part of accidents happens at night. However, for some perspective, almost the same number of juvenile crimes happen in the hours immediately after the school time. Therefore, the curfews create the false expectation of security, ignoring the fact that the half of the offenses occur in a different time.

Moreover, integration of the new system hinders the appropriate teenager’s development. Juvenility has always been the most crucial part in human’s life for learning self-regulation and orientation in society. By considering teenagers as a trouble-makers, the government not only cause irritability but also wash away the desire to obey the law as it should be.

In conclusion, while the intention of introducing the new system of curfews for the teenagers may sound noble, it doesn’t execute the fundamental problem. It also penalizes the law obeying youth, by offering simple but also doubtful solution. In my opinion, instead of integrating curfews, the government should spend time on defining the root reason of teenagers and solving it.