In some cities, public parks and open spaces are changed into gardens where local residents can grow their own fruit and vegetables. Do you think the benefits outweigh the disadvantages?

Many cities are converting communal parks and spaces into public gardens for the local citizens to grow their own fruits and vegetables. Although this approach could be beneficial in some ways, I believe that the drawbacks are more significant in the long run.

Admittedly, the idea of public gardens may bring many benefits to the community. First, it can foster the sense of community by offering local people free spaces along with opportunities to do gardening together so that they can connect with other people. Then, the ties between individuals in these areas can be improved considerably. Besides, this strategy also provides a safe and suitable supply of fruits, vegetables for people when they can grow plants which satisfy their favor and they’re allowed to minimize the amount of pesticides, fertilizers when gardening. On top of that, these places help raise people’s awareness about eco-consciousness and responsibility because it can encourage a lot of citizens to broaden their knowledge about the natural world when planting trees and encourage more people to appreciate the vegetables they consume.

We cannot deny the advantages of the former solutions, but it is definitely true that these benefits just affect a few people, not the whole community. So I still think that there are a lot of concerns that we need to consider about this idea. When transferring public parks and spaces to gardens, it can place unnecessary pressure on the government because they need to allocate the suitable allotments for the residents. Besides, they also need to tackle many issues that can occur such as opposition from many citizens, the lack of public places for other needed purposes while there are too few spare areas in metropolitan areas. Additionally, this approach might have a negative impact on urban aesthetics. The reason behind that is uncoordinated and unplanned planting can make these zones look disorganized and less visually appealing, reducing the attractiveness of the region then directly affecting the tourism industry of this city in the longer term.

In conclusion, converting public parks and spaces into free gardens for local residents can bring many benefits for some people in the society. But look further, its drawbacks are more significant to the whole community and the zones’ appearance while addressing many unnecessary pressures on the government. So, I believe that this approach seems to be imperfect and brings about more far-reaching and impactful consequences for the community.