In some countries, an increasing number of children are overweight or obese as a result of eating too much fast food. Banning fast food from school canteens is the best way to flight this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Excessive weight gain and obesity have become major issues among children. It is argued that schools should not be allowed to sell the fast food in order to reduce the rates of childhood obesity. Even though a straightforward ban on fast food in school cafeteria seems to be a positive step, I do not agree that this is the most effective measure to alleviate the problem.

Fast food has already been proven to be extremely detrimental to one’s health, thus preventing schools from serving into their pupils is definitely a step in the right direction. The fewer burgers, pizzas, and chips children consume, the better. If school canteen cooked fresh, healthy meals, children would eat them. This measure, therefore could prevent children from eating fast food for lunch and may even help some of them get used to eating healthy food. However, it is not sufficient to solve the overarching problem.

The difficulty is that consumption of unhealthy food for lunch at school is only part of the issue. Research shows that children whose parents are overweight are at an increased risk of becoming overweight themselves. Apart words from genetic factors, this phenomenon can be linked to shared family behaviours such as eating and activity level. This is why in order to avoid the development of obesity in children, whole families should be encouraged to develop healthy habits, such as regular physical exercise and fresh meals at home.

To conclude, although preventing schools from serving fast food is a step in the right direction, I believe that, on its own, it cannot prevent children from becoming overweight or obese. The only way to solve this problem is to encourage children and their families to exercise regularly and eat healthy.