In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Nowadays more and more people are experiencing health issues due to excessive consumption of fast food. It is often suggested that governments could improve public health by introducing higher taxes on unhealthy fast food. I would argue that i disagree with that statement as there are more effective and fair ways to address the issue of poor health even if the states decides to impose a higher tax on junk food to improve public health then by the same logic it should also maintain or raise taxes on tobacco which pose even greater health risks. Many individuals with busy schedules don’t have time to cook so that’s why they order for instance pizza or burger. Every person have a bad habit which is harmful to health but people need to control themselves and not harm their health. Instead governments should focus on crucial things like educating the public about nutrition and making healthy food more affordable and available. Furthermore another more effective solution would be to make medical treatment more cheaper if people will have access to cheaper or even free health services they would be more likely to seek advice and take preventive measures. This approach supports the population without placing an additional financial burden on those who may already struggle economically.

It’s a government duty to provide amenities for citizens promoting active lifestyles through community programs and improving healthcare access are also essential. These strategies tackle the underlying causes of poor health and encourage long- term positive change.

In conclusion, although taxing fast food might seem like a straightforward solution it risks increasing inequality and does not effectively address the problem.