In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

The consumption of junk food that significantly increasing in some countries has contribute to health issues. This phenomenon make some people assert that the authority must impose ‘fat tax’ for certain foods that are considered unhealthy. In the other hand, the counterpart contends that it is a violation to individual’s rights of freedom. This essay will examine benefits of fat tax on mitigating healh problems and the effects on lower income groups and food manufacturer. Furthermore, this essay will also conclude why fat tax is unnecessary by analyzing how it violates personal freedom and alternative options that are more practical.

Primary reason to impose such tax is to create a subtle barrier to access unhealthy meal. It is well known that junk food are generally cheaper, therfore by imposing additional charge the customers will look for other alternative that have better value for money. In addition, the revenue from taxing junk foods can be use to subsidize healthy foods, this will gradually increase the consumption of more nutritious options. This shift of preference will also be driving factor for food manufactures to produce more healthy food to keep up with the new market price. This strategy will directly effect the citizens, especially the lower income group that could not afford costly healthcare.

However, the other party believes that fat tax is a unnecessary legal instrument, rather than prevent excessive food consumption, this act is violates individuals’ rights to freedom. Food choice is personal preference, this essential human rights should not be regulated by law because it does not have any significant effects except to themselves. Instead of taxing food products, there are some alternative solutions regarding this issues. Firstly, the legislative body can create a law that regulates not only the use of fresh and healthy ingredients in FnB industry, but also the display of nutritional facts of every byproducts. This will raise people conciousness to understand what kind of substances enter their body. Secondly, the government can establish a governmental body to supervise and control food quality. These strategy are more practical and have been practiced by some countries all around the world.

To summarize, the fat tax is design to act as leading factors for people to choose healthier food by utilizing the surcharge to subsidise healthy food and lowered demand for junk foods. Despite all of that, this mechanism seems unpractical and violates individual freedom. Therefore, this essay provide two alternatives such as establishing fnb law and governmental body.