In some countries, birth rates are falling and experts say that by 2050 these countries will have more adults aged 65 and over than children under 15. What problems might this cause in the future? Can anything be done to solve this issue?

Experts say that in some countries the number of children born is getting lower year by year, which will cause more adults over 65 than children under 15 years in these specific countries by the year of 2050. This situation will end in overall less workforce, thus a fall in economics, which is a problem to be solved. However, encouraging young couples to have more than one child can help to avoid this problem.

Having more elders than young children can cause a fall in a country’s economy, because the people who can not work anymore will by the time outnumber the young professionals who are producing GDP and moving forward their homeland’s economy. For example, it is starting to get an urgent problem in Hungary as well, since the younger, working generations are paying the older generations’ pensions, which would require at least as many youngsters than the ones receiving the aid. However, with the fall in birth rates, there are less workers and more elderly by every year.

A country’s government could help solve this tendency with encouraging young couples to have more than one child. It can be done by providing some financial aid for those with at least two kids, or even more when they are willing to raise more children. This solution can help couples start their families earlier, which can lead to having more kids in general.

Overall, the problem of having less childbirth year by year is dangerous for every country it is happening in, but with the encouragement of young couples for having a baby, the government can help solve this problem before it gets out of hand.