In some countries, birth rates are falling and experts say that by 2050 these countries will have more adults aged 65 and over than children under 15. What problems might this cause in the future? Can anything be done to solve this issue?

Generally, birth rates are declining in many particular countries all over the world. There is an estimation that the number of adults aged 65 surpasses that of teenagers under 15. This essay will indicate the cause of this issue and suggest practical solutions to this issue.

The decrease in fertility rate can be attributed to one main reason. The key point is the unhealthy lifestyle of adults. Regarding to the common food, people often choose fast food which contains a large amount of fat and harmful additives to consume, because eating processed products is time-saving to them. Moreover, an amount of fruits and vegetables that is consumed daily is genetically modified organisms which are chemically fertilized. As a result of consuming unhealthy food, the harmful contained substances can damage human physical health and alter hormones. Besides, adults have to sustain the pressure from agencies. Working intensely around 50 hours a week undermines people’s mental health, leading to an extremely high proportion of stressed residents in society. Subsequently, adults suffer the multiple side effects that the physical and emotional issues cause, especially, the decrease in the possibility of pregnancy.

To prevent the decline in birth rate, the following steps should be taken. To begin with, it is imperative for governments to encourage farmers to grow food without abusing chemical substances by subsidizing agriculture. With the financial support, farmers learn how to produce unfertilized food, therefore, residents can consume organic food to improve their well-being. Moreover, governments should legislate laws about working hours to avoid the

to avert labor exploitation. Hence, people can get more free time to relax and do exercises to maintain their welfare.

In conclusion, the unhealthy lifestyle of adults is the main cause of the issue. Nevertheless, this can be solved by the positive interference of governments.